A love letter I got that seems completely unjustified.

March 26, 2007 at 5:47 am (Uncategorized)

The following is an e-mail I got from a friend I went to high school with. The thing is… is that I never once – ever, gave him anything to build that on. I was straight with him when I told him I did not want to date him. We are not compatible. Well, at least I think so. I am just so bewildered that he would think that I would be in love with him after all the times that I told him I did not want anything to do with him. I think it is just because he and I both got out of really long relationships not too long ago and he just needs someone to take the place of what he lost. The other important factor is that I currently, secretly, like someone that I go to school with. It is not anyone that I have tried to date before because I got burned too many times from that. It hurt too much. This guy is different. He is genuine and caring, both things that I didn’t think I would find in a classmate… seeing how the other attempts came out. Well, now that I divulged my soul I think reading the letter might be good now.

“I have something I REALLY need to get off my chest to you. It is something I’ve been trying to say for a very long time, so PLEASE understand what I’m trying to tell you. I had a big, long, drawn-out version of what I wanted to say, but I found that it really said very little. I wanted to say the perfect thing, the one thing that would make you understand exactly what I’m trying to say. But in all of that, I found that nothing said it better than this: I think I am in love with you, and I think have been since the day I met you. I go crazy every time I’m around you. Every time I see you, my heart leaps for joy. Whenever I talk to you, my mind scrambles into a million pieces and everything that comes out of it turns to junk. Even writing this letter, with no pressures of actually having to say things to you, is difficult. This is why I think that I love you. If it is not love, then I know not what love is.

I read this poem once, and it says exactly how I feel about you:

The want of you is like no other thing;
It smites my soul with sudden sickening;
It binds my being with a wreath of rue-
This want of you.

If flashes on me with the waking sun;
It creeps upon me when the day is done;
It hammers at my heart the long night through-
This want of you.

It sighs within me with the misting skies;
Oh, all the day within my heart it cries,
Old as your absence, yet each moment new-
This want of you.

Mad with demand and aching with despair,
It leaps within my heart and you are –where?
God has forgotten, or he never knew-
This want of you.

Ivan Leonard Wright

Perhaps I’ve come on too strong. Perhaps I have completely misplaced feelings for you. Perhaps you feel quite the opposite about me as I feel about you. Perhaps I’m just a dork who doesn’t know the first thing about love (something I sincerely hope isn’t the case). Whatever the case, it does not change the way I feel about you. So if you’d give me a chance, just one little chance, thats all I ask. Please don’t ignore me, as that will only make it worse on me. At the very least, give me a straight answer, so I can go on with my life.

Please forgive me for being so forward, its just that I have had this building inside of me for a very long time, and I needed to get it out. Thank you very much for reading this. Even if you don’t feel the same way about me, I’d really like to have dinner with you sometime so that we can discuss this a little more. That would mean a lot to me if you’d grant me even that one little thing.

Like I said, thanks for reading this, even though I’m sure its one of the last things you’d like to read. I eagerly await any reply you can give me. See ya!”

Leave a Reply

