Mad Volleyball Skills

March 16, 2009 at 3:38 pm (It's just my life)

Besides being emotionally exhausted, I actually did something today that made me feel good again.

I joined a volleyball team that plays 3 to 4 times a week. We had our first match tonight and we killed it. The score was like 25 to 3 and then 25 to 5. In that first game I scored like 16 points. Plus, I had some really great sets. It was like I never stopped playing. Seriously, and, I had some awesome kills. I even had a block. Me! I am only 5’7″! I was so proud. We play again tomorrow night at 7:00.

I remember after one of my hits everyone in the gym was like “Dang!” or “Wow!”  That NEVER happens, but I tell you what, it felt good! I could’ve played practically anywhere after high school. I picked one of three schools that I couldn’t play at because I didn’t meet the height requirement. That was crappy.

This volleyball thing couldn’t have come at a better time. I feel the most like myself when I am playing. Plus, I like the idea of playing volleyball helping me get back into shape. I have to do that before I move on. I need to be happy with myself again. I cannot wallow about my mistakes forever, even though it feels like I will.

.

On another note, I called Adam. I broke down and gave in because I can’t stand to lose my best friend again. Starting over with that is the hardest thing ever. We are going to try to go canoeing and camping one night next week for our spring break as friends. We were going to go to Memphis to the music district, but I didn’t think that was the best idea now that we aren’t dating. So something simple and easy sounds like it should be the next step.

I will keep you all informed. (That is assuming that some people reading this actually know what I have written previous to this post…)

P.S. WordPress is trying to tell me that “canoeing” is spelled wrong. ; )

Leave a Reply

